Help! What Color Should I Paint My New Desk?

I decided to change up a corner of my room. Here’s what it had looked like until now:

IMG_440809555It’s cozy looking, but I never sat in the chair, so it was pretty much just a dust catcher. So I decided to put a desk there instead. I probably won’t sit at the desk (I’ve never liked using desks), but it’ll be nice to keep stationery supplies in/on it. And I had an old desk from my grandparents lying around, so it’s free!

Ain’t she cute?

IMG_440814818But I can’t decide what color to paint it, so you should help me!

Here are the options I’m considering:

1. White

Under The Table and Dreaming: Home Office and Work Space Ideas & Inspiration | 75 Creative Desk Areas(100+) desk |New office with prints from @Sarah Chintomby Tolzmann @Inslee Haynes Haynes and Southern Weddings Shop via Etsy

2. Robin’s Egg Blue

Love the blue desk and contrasting wood shelves in this modern home office nookThis is clever, very clever.  I would make my closet into my sewing area!  Maybe than I would be able to do more sewing because I wouldn't have to take my sewing machine off the kitchen table every time I want to work on a project!boys room, locker for storage, ive seen these at habitat for humanity

3. No paint!

15 Beautiful and Inspiring Workspaces | Apartment Therapytumblr n2qg9xMw6Y1rqeb09o1 1280 620x413 70 Inspirational Workspaces & Offices | Part 21wooden desk with metal stool and red typewriter

5 Things to Consider:

1. My room is in the attic, where there are sloping ceilings and few windows, so it tends to be a bit darker up here. Having a lighter colored desk is appealing for that reason.

2. I like the clean, sleek look of the white. But white shows dirt easily and I tend to get a little bored with white.

3. The Robin’s Egg Blue is a color I have running throughout my house (lots of light blue, aqua, and turquoise, with yellow accents). I love it, but I might get sick of it at some point. I think it would be super cute, but it might be good to go with something a little more neutral and a little less twee..?

4. I almost always dislike brown wood. (If I’m going to have something wood, I’d prefer it to be kind of grayish ashy, like distressed barn wood.) So I do like the idea of keeping it unpainted because it’s more neutral and “grown up”, but I just don’t know how much I’m going to like having that color wood around forever. It’s also kind of dark for this attic.

5. The finish is imperfect. It’s an old desk, so it’s all scraped up. It’s not terrible (I wouldn’t be annoyed by it if I kept it as is), but it justifies painting it (in my opinion).

IMG_440812802So what do you think? Any preferences? Or do you think I should do something else altogether? And either way, should I do something funky with it like a stencil, two-tone paint, gold accents, etc.?

4 thoughts on “Help! What Color Should I Paint My New Desk?

  1. It sounds like you like the robin’s egg blue the best. It would be really cute on that desk and would also add a splash of color against your already white walls. If that’s a color you love, I’d say go for it! 🙂 Besides, paint can always be changed later if you so choose.

    I don’t know if you were looking for other specific thoughts/ideas, but I thought this stencil was pretty. http://blog.cuttingedgestencils.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/blue-dresser.jpg Have fun with your desk! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

