Pumpkin Bars

Tonight, I was invited to a “Thought Forum”: a place for a group of people to get together and share thoughts, movie snippets, songs, poems, dreams, about a certain topic. (This month’s topic was “Dread”.) It’s kind of a potluck too, so I decided to bring a sweet treat. I love having excuses to make things. I swear, if I didn’t make things for other people, I would never make another thing.

So anyway, here was my first attempt at Pumpkin Bars. They were yummy, if I do say so myself!

Ingredients:
4 eggs
1 2/3 cup sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
1 16 oz can pumpkin
2 cups flour sifted
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp nutmeg
For the icing:
3 oz cream cheese
1/2 cup butter
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups powdered sugar
Step 1. Mix the eggs, sugar, oil, and pumpkin in a bowl.
Photo (28) - Copy
Add the rest of the cake ingredients and mix well.
Photo (29)
Step 3. Pour into a 9 x 13 baking dish, and bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.
Photo (31)4. While that’s baking, make the icing. Cream together the cream cheese, butter, and vanilla (or if you’re me, mush it all around in a bowl with a wooden spoon until it looks about right). Then gradually mix in the powdered sugar.
Photo (32)5. Let the cake cool.
Look how pretty!
Photo (28)
Step 6. Ice it, and enjoy!
Photo (33)
One thought on “Pumpkin Bars

Leave a Reply

