New Nephew Chili

Photo (26)Guess what! My new nephew (Lochlan) was born today! We’ve been waiting awhile (11 days late!), so we are all very happy that he is finally with us. I got to visit him after work today and smell his new-baby-smell. He was pretty charming.

I wanted to bring his parents some food, and since they tend to eat on the Paleo side, I figured a chili might be good (plus it’s freezable).

Here’s the chili I made. It was very simple: only 3 steps!

Ingredients:

1lb of ground beef

1 onion

1 can of black beans

1 can of tomato paste (6 oz)

1 can of diced tomatoes and green chilis

1 can of chicken broth (I used a Knorr condensed broth packet)

1/2 tablespoon chili powder

1/4 tsp ground cumin

Dash of ground cinnamon (I don’t know if this was necessary. I’d maybe leave it out next time, not sure.)

salt and pepper to taste

Step 1. Chop your onion. In the recipe I was using, the ingredients just listed 1 chopped onion. As if you buy them that way. No, no. Chopping the onion is a STEP, because chopping an onion is a BITCH. In the past, I have usually bought pre-chopped onion just because I hate doing it so much. But that costs like 5 bucks a tub! I just couldn’t bring myself to do it this time. When I chopped this onion, I wasn’t just crying, my entire face was leaking. I took this picture without actually being able to see.

Photo (27)Step 2. Brown your beef and cook your onion.

Photo (28)
pot o’ meat

Step 3. Throw everything else in. Cook until boiling, then let simmer for about 10 minutes. Seriously, that simple.

Photo (29)While it’s simmering, you make cornbread muffins.

Photo (31)And if you’re like me, you serve it with shredded cheese and sour cream because chili is basically just a vehicle for shredded cheese and sour cream.

 

 

8 thoughts on “New Nephew Chili

Leave a Reply

