Book Report!

About the experiences of a student at a New England boarding school in 1960. The main events surround the school’s organized visits by revered writers (Frost, Ayn Rand, Hemingway). I don’t like books (or movies or plays, etc.) in which not much happens, and this is one of those. It’s a lot of musings on the works of these writers and the main character’s responses to them. Meh

A murder mystery wherein the main character and mystery solver is an 11 year old girl with a precocious vocabulary and a flair for chemistry. It wasn’t quite the page turner that you’d expect of this genre, and the main character’s seeming lack of emotional connection with any other characters ended up making the book feel very lonely, but it was all right.

A fictional account of the life of a southern woman in the 1920s. Nothing grand happens in Roxanna Slade’s life (she gets married, has children, etc.), but I felt that I learned a lot about what life was like at that time. The style of writing was something different too. I don’t like needlessly flowering writing (I just want them to get to the point), and this writing wasn’t flowery, but it was poetic in a way. In a way that I liked.

The true story of a cat with no eyes (they had to be removed when he was a kitten). He never knew he was blind, so he never knew that life was supposed to be challenging for him. He has spunk, courage, and charm. A book about a cat? I’ll take it!

I never read this book as a kid. I had never even heard of it until college. ¬†Everybody raves about it, but I didn’t get it. Apparently you can only read it when you’re 12.

No, just no. This woman wrote “Must Love Dogs” (which was made into a movie that looked terrible). The first red flag about this book is that the mediocre praise on the back jacket is only in reference to Must Love Dogs…not the actual book for which the jacket was made. Nothing happens in this book. The main character is boring and unlikable. And did I mention that nothing happens? Since nothing happens, and the author still wanted to get paid for having written a book, she describes every single thing that the protagonist does. Every. Single. Thing. Instead of saying “I moved the high chair closer to the counter” (which didn’t need to be said anyway), she says “I put my hand on the bottom of the chair, and dragged the legs with my foot.” She clears off desks, she buckles her seat belt, she buys things at the grocery store (and each food item is listed). Why was this book published?

Leave a Reply

