Trip to Kentucky

My parents and I just visited my cousin Debbie’s horse farm in Kentucky. We drove down, and stopped in Madison, WI on the way.

When we arrived in Kentucky, this was our Welcome Committee:

Stacy the cat, Otis on the left, Oliver on the right.
Stacy the cat, Otis on the left, Oliver on the right.

I love me some animals, so I spent a lot of time with these guys and the other creatures around the farm.

One of the first things we did there was to gather the goose eggs. Cousin Debbie doesn’t want any more geese, so she makes sure to collect the eggs as soon as possible (there are new ones basically every day). There are three or so nests around the farm, and the nests are made under the earth and covered with straw on top, so you just barely see the tops of the eggs in the grass. Here I am, giving Debbie the eggs we found. Trying to be very careful!

DSC00747Debbie made omelets with the eggs. This is what they look like when broken. So orange and big!

DSC00758Then we visited the horses and their babies!!!

DSC00738

DSC00742That’s Amelia, the pot-bellied pig. I’ll talk more about her later.

First things first, vet check for a pregnant horse! ACK!!

photoHere’s the sonogram machine (the horse fetus is 30 days old, it’s about the size of a cashew).

DSC00761Then we took a tour of the Woodford Reserve Distillery, where they make Bourbon Whiskey. As someone who doesn’t drink alcohol, this is where I learned a lot about something that has no relevance to me personally. But it was very interesting!

Photo1 (5)

Photo1 (9)

Photo1 (8)

Below is a fermentor. It’s filled with sour mash (one of the first steps of the process). It looks like an enormous vat of bubbling vomit. And it smells like yeast. And they just leave them open like that, for anyone to just drop in their sunglasses or camera or… spit. On the right is our tour guide, who was fantastic. 
DSC00781

Here are the 3 copper stills. 
Photo1 (7) - Copy

Finished product. It’s kept in one barrel for at least 2 years (at this distillery, they keep them in there for 8 years). They’ve recently started moving them into a second barrel (which they treat slightly differently to infuse the Bourbon with a different flavor) for a few years.
Photo1 (6) - CopyOn the next day, we hung out at the farm for a while, where I got to make friends with Wilbur (on the left), and Patty (on the right), the German Shepherds. We were just hanging out, when Wilbur made it very clear that he wanted to be chased (he nipped another dog and gave a little bounce away/look back smiling move). The other dogs didn’t take the bait, so I chased him, which he seemed to love. He was fast! Afterward, he got shy and seemed to want to ensure that we were okay again. He seemed to be a little shy with strangers, usually approaching them (even me, and I’m quite a bit smaller than he) cautiously with flattened ears. I ended up just kneeling whenever he approached, and that seemed to make him feel safe. They were the sweetest, most beautiful dogs.

DSC00840I also made friends with Amelia, the pig. She made me nervous at first, because I had heard that she had started to get a little snippy with people, so I tried to give her space and let her know that I wasn’t a threat. But while I was in the big pen with the dogs, she came up to me slowly (she does everything slowly) several times. I didn’t know if she just wanted to check me out or if she was trying to tell me to beware, but I found out later that it was secret option #3, she wanted me to pet her! I found this out while I was sitting in the grass, and she ambled over to me, and she sloooowlly laid down next to me. Debbie was there, and she told me to scratch her belly. I still wasn’t so sure, but I did so cautiously, and the bristles on Amelia’s back raised (see the blond mohawk in the below pic). I’m used to cats, who raise their hair in fear or aggression, but I soon learned that Amelia does it when she’s pleased. And boyyyy was she pleased. Here’s a pic of that historic moment:

"Uhh...you're sure she's not going to bite me?"
“Uhh…you’re sure she’s not going to bite me?”

DSC00800

Zoom in on that happy face. "Hog heaven" my mom called it.
Zoom in on that happy face. “Hog heaven” my mom called it.

So I ended up spending lots of time with Ms. Amelia. She would usually come over to me grunting her request to be scratched, and then she would ease herself to the ground (it looked a bit like a tree being felled: slow slow slowww KABOOM! TIMBERRRR). Then I would scratch her up, and after a while I’d take a rest. She would eventually awake and realize that I was no longer fulfilling the scratching duties, so she would make her little pig noises, roll over and nudge me with her snout. “Um. Excuse me! You must continue the scratching!” So of course, I had to comply. I wasn’t familiar with pig noises prior to this, but she gave me a crash course. She usually did the little grunts (a greeting grumble, a pleased grmm grmm grmm), but sometimes she gave out a little low squeal, which had the cadence of an old timey ah-OO-gah horn. This meant, “Ooohh yeah, right there” or “HEY!!! I’m not happy that you’ve stopped scratching me!!!!!”

Oh, and Amelia is a family pet, not a farm animal. She spends as much time in the house as the dogs do.

DSC00847

That night, we had a HUGE bonfire, and made s’mores and sang.

DSC00813
This is not a forced perspective, that is the actual size of the fire.

Here are some pictures of the farm.

Photo1 (10)
The house on the right, the barn in the background.

DSC00750DSC00804

The trip was wonderful.

6 thoughts on “Trip to Kentucky

  1. That was absolutley beautiful. Truly my little piece of heaven! thanks, Debbie BTW, Elisha tried doing your thing and Amelia bit her. You have the gift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

